About the Board

The Topeka Metro Board of Directors is composed of seven council-approved, mayor-appointed citizens. The Board establishes policy and legislative direction for the agency. Board members are appointed to four-year terms.


The Board of Directors hold regular monthly meetings in the South meeting room at Quincy Street Station. The Board Committees – Planning Committee and Finance Committee – also meet one day per month. The meetings are open to the public.

Board Members

Scott Tummons, Board Chair as of 7/1/23 – Current Term:  05/01/22 - 05/01/26

Mr. Tummons was appointed to his first term on the Topeka Metro board in November 2013 and is currently serving his third term. Scott works for the Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company in Topeka and is currently in his third term as financial secretary for the United Steelworkers Local 307. He sits on several committees within the Local Union, as well as charitable and political organizations throughout the community. Scott and his wife Kerry reside in Topeka, and have four children that attend school within the Auburn-Washburn School District. Scott can be reached at stummons@topekametro.org.

Candis Stiles, Vice Chair as of 7/1/23 - Current Term: 09/13/22 - 09/13/26


Ms. Stiles was appointed to the Topeka Metro board in September 2022 and serving her first term. Candis is the director of the Shawnee County Extension office. Previously, she was the 4-H Youth development agent in Shawnee County for 9 years. She earned a Bachelor's degree from The University of Kansas in Journalism and a Master's degree in Adult Learning and Leadership from Kansas State University. Candis has served previously on the Topeka 20 under 40 board and Communities in Schools board for Northeast Kansas. She has two sons that attend Topeka Public Schools and are active in sports and 4-H.  Candis can be reached at cmeerpohl@topekametro.org.

Dr. Alan Bearman – Current Term: 09/07/21 – 09/18/25

Dr. Bearman was appointed to the Topeka Metro board in October 2018 and is currently serving his first term. Dr. Bearman is employed by Washburn University as vice president for strategic enrollment, dean of student success and libraries. He is a graduate of the University of Kentucky, Murray State University and Kansas State University. Dr. Bearman resides in Topeka with his wife and two children. Dr. Bearman can be reached at abearman@topekametro.org.


Beverly Hall – Current Term: 07/01/22 – 07/01/26

Mrs. Hall was appointed to her first term on the Topeka Metro Board in July 2012, and is currently serving her third term. Mrs. Hall is a retiree of AT&T. She has a bachelor’s degree in legal studies from Washburn University and works part-time as a church secretary. She also serves on several community boards and groups. Beverly can be reached at bhall@topekametro.org.

Fátima Pérez-Luthi - Current Term: 10/11/22 - 10/11/26


Fátima is a financial coach and founder of The Grind Coaching & Consulting. Previously, she was a mortgage advisor with Envista Credit Union, where she built her career for eight years in the financial industry. Fátima migrated to Topeka when she was two, and has grown to call Topeka home for the last two decades. She sits on several committees within Forge Young Professionals and currently on her second term and serving as chair with Forge, as well as other charitable and political organizations throughout the community. Fátima is a 2019 Alumni of Latino Leadership Collaborative of Kansas and holds other leadership certifications through YWCA. In 2022, she was an honoree and recipient for the Small Business Award, Woman of Excellence 2022 and honoree of NEXTGEN Under 30. Fátima enjoys volunteering and giving back to her community that she grew up in, and helping others prosper. She is proud to have her family live, work and play in our community. Fatima can be reached at fperezluthi@topekametro.org.


Rodd Miller – Current Term: 07/01/22 - 07/01/26

Mr. Miller was appointed to his first term on the Topeka Metro board in July 2010 and is currently serving his third term. He previously served three years as board chair. Rodd is a Certified Public Accountant with Stifel Nicolaus & Co. He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in computer science from Wichita State University. He has a long and distinguished record of association with numerous community volunteer organizations and was appointed as the employee outreach director of the Kansas Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve (ESGR), which is a Department of Defense volunteer position. In 2016, Rodd was appointed by Governor Brownback to serve on the Pooled Money Investment Board. Rodd can be reached at rmiller@topekametro.org.

Chance Lucas – Current Term: 10/23 - 10/27

Mr. Lucas was appointed to the Topeka Metro board in October 2023 and is currently serving his first term. Chance is a staff auditor at Mize CPAs Inc. He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in accounting and finance at the University of Kansas. Chance can be reached at clucas@topekametro.org.

Board Meeting Minutes

You can find links to Topeka Metro board meeting minutes and reports in each of the years listed. If you have questions or are interested in further information, email info@topekametro.org.

2024 Board Meetings

2024 Board Meetings

2023 Board Meetings

2022 Board Meetings

2021 Board Meetings

2020 Board Meetings

2019 Board Meetings

2018 Board Meetings

2017 Board Meetings